The First Post

Here it is—the first post. So, this is awkward. I’m about to embark on sharing my thoughts, opinions, and experiences with you. In doing so, I hope that it is entertaining and enjoyable enough that you will keep coming back here to read more and share your own experiences. That is why I decided to start this blog.

So, who is the geek couple, you wonder? Just me, Tab, and Cam (occasionally). We both embrace our inner geek in different ways. Some of those interests overlap, like video and board games. But a lot of them don’t. While Cam is playing Magic the Gathering or Dungeons and Dragons, I’d rather curl up on the couch with a book. While we enjoy our own hobbies independently, this blog is about the exploration of our different shades of geek.

What exactly does that word really mean anyway? Geek. As Cam and I sit in our living room, he’s playing Dead Space 3 with a friend. We just finished a couple of episodes of Star Trek: Next Gen. As I look around the living room, I scan the shelves lined with B zombie movies, Mystery Science Theatre, and Xbox games. There is a Portal turret hanging from my Christmas tree. Books fill shelves in 3 rooms. I wonder, is this what I mean by embracing the inner geek?

From the Merriam-Webster dictionary online, it is defined as such:

geek

noun \ˈgēk\

: a person who is socially awkward and unpopular : a usually intelligent person who does not fit in with other people

: a person who is very interested in and knows a lot about a particular field or activity

The Oxford dictionary also includes carnival people who perform wild or disgusting acts. That’s probably from its Germanic and Dutch origins meaning fool or wild and mad. It is also a verb—to geek out. To get excited or enthusiast about a particular subject.

I don’t particularly see myself as socially awkward or unpopular. I do get very excited about particular topics. I don’t think I know a lot about those topics, but I get curious about them and try to learn as much as possible. I enjoy being outdoors—stargazing, hiking, camping. I was lucky enough to spend a great portion of my twenties traveling and living abroad. Also, technology is not an interest of mine. Does it make me not geeky if I only have a vague understanding of my computer? Does that make me less of a geek than Cam, who works in IT? I tend to think that we all “geek” out about something, whether it is baseball statistics, yoga, or whatever gets your neurons shooting.

What does geek mean to you? I invite you to comment and share your opinion. Do you consider yourself a geek?

Published by

geekcoupletab

We're Tab and Cam-just a goofy, geeky couple exploring each other's interests from comic books, board games, video games, TV and movies. Join us in misadventures of learning to accept one's obsession with Magic the Gathering and the other's admiration for Steampunk décor.

13 thoughts on “The First Post”

  1. I definitely agree with the dictionary explanation of “geek”. In my experience, the geek has always been the less socially accepted person in any circle. I’ve always had a interest in darker subjects, such as the paranormal, death, horror films, and anything normally considered “creepy”. These interests have never been”the norm” and because of this , I was always considered a geek. The best thing I ever did was find like minded people that share my interests. I certainly consider myself a geek and am very proud of it! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your first post!

    When I first hear the word “geek,” I automatically think of an intelligent but awkward person. Steve Urkel even LOL.

    But, when I relate “geek” to myself, I think of the things I obsess over or “geek out” over. For instance, Harry Potter. I am definitely a Harry Potter geek. I own all of the books (hardback, of course) and all of the movies. I have an account on Pottermore, and a Pinterest board completely devoted to “The Boy Who Lived” with nearly 300 pins. I can quote the books and movies, and become very excited when I meet someone who shares the same love for the series and the characters. Though I tend to geek out about other things as well, my Harry Potter “geekness” is definitely my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maybe I should actually leave a comment about the subject of the post.

    As often is the case I find myself between subcultures. I’m not exactly Goth or Steampunk but I like both. I’m not exactly a Geek, nor a non-Geek. I guess the exact opposite of Geek is Jock and you, Tab are even more jock than I am. As you know I couldn’t care less about sports. The most geeky thing about me is that I was raised on Star Trek and am a huge fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’m definitely not the Steve Urkel type, who I believe is more of a Nerd than a Geek. Am I intelligent? Well I guess compared to most people from G— County I am. You and I are geeky enough to understand the joke I just made. Then again, that’s more of an inside joke than a Geek thing.

    Anyway whatever I am, I am happy to read your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great first post. I consider myself a geek too. When I think of a “geek” I think of someone very intelligent but also the cool kid in the crowd.
    Can’t wait until your next post

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for all the positive feedback! Sorry, I’m a little late in responding. Work always gets in the way.
    It seems that everyone’s geekiness is different. From the dark and disturbing that Kayce and darkenabler enjoys to the coming of age tale of Harry Potter. I like to branch out and I enjoy a lot of these too. Definitely a Harry Potter fan, too! I could read the books over and over. I’m also fascinated by creepypasta. Kayce, do you remember the illustrations in the Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark series? They republished the series with more toned down illustrations! I was so disappointed. I want to buy them, but can’t find the old ones I remember from when I was a kid.
    Darkenabler, you bring up a good point. I don’t think the opposite of geek is jock necessarily. I think you can be a physically active person and still be geeky over board games or Game of Thrones. Perhaps I feel that way now that I’m older. Like Nicole wrote, being geeky can be associated with being hip or cool. I agree especially now that I am older. I may not have felt that way 15 years ago. Of course, things have changed, so I’m not sure what the kids consider “cool” these days. The older I get, the more I don’t worry about other people. I embrace the things I love.
    That brings me to a confession…. I don’t like Doctor Who! Gasp! I tried to watch an episode once. Maybe it was because it was in the middle of an episode, and I had no clue about what was happening. Cam keeps trying to convince me to watch it. Maybe when I get time. There are just so many other fun things to watch and play and do. On the other hand, this blog is about exploring our geekiness, so maybe (someday far in the future), you’ll get to read a post about my new found love of Doctor Who.

    Like

  6. Hey, geeks. Badfish here. I just got a message stating you were following me. I found that intriguing…as I just created the blog yesterday, and writing my first post yesterday. Are you in the 101 course? If so, or especially if not, I’m wondering what prompted you to follow me. And I’ve learned something about myself from your post–I am a yoga geek! Thank you

    Like

  7. In my own certain ways I do consider myself a geek. I think the idea of geek has changed over the years for me, well at least in has in media. I sometimes like to relax and play video games and I like to play board games or read. I think the original idea of the definition of geek was being very smart and social award. Labels are labels and I do not think that we need to fall under one category.

    Like

    1. I agree! That’s why I hope that I can use this blog to explore different aspects. I don’t think we should be labeling and pigeonholing someone just because they like certain activities. I think everyone is a geek over something.

      Like

  8. Yeah the geek definition seems to have changed over time, but I did think of it as one who is intelligent and possibly socially awkward. I guess that’s why Best Buy has their Geek Squad as their technical experts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

