Around the World in 12 Books Reading Challenge

I am joining the Around the World in 12 Books Reading Challenge for 2015.  I am participating as a Wayfarer Challenge Participant.  According to the challenge and the level I am participating, I have to read 4 books from different countries in 2015.  Luckily, I have a few books in mind already and made a list:

  1. Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe, set in Nigeria
  2. The Return of the Native, by Thomas Hardy, set in England
  3. The Good Earth, by Pearl S. Buck, set in China
  4. The Idiot, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, set in Russia

Wayfarer-2015-300x132

– The Wayfarer doesn’t like to plan; he/she likes to journey as the need takes them, deciding where to go on a whim or inspiration or simply how they’re feeling
– Read a minimum of 4 books over the course of the year
– Books can be set in any country, but they must all be different countries
– You do not need to decide on your choice of books ahead of time. You can select books as you go
– No re-reads
– Any genre is okay (including non-fiction) BUT books MUST be set in a specific country or region with a noticeable attention to the location or environment; some genre books won’t be much use for this challenge

around the world 2015

Hosted by Shannon at Giraffe Days

After completing each book, I’ll post a review on this blog.  This will definitely challenge me to read more internationally!

 

Published by

geekcoupletab

We're Tab and Cam-just a goofy, geeky couple exploring each other's interests from comic books, board games, video games, TV and movies. Join us in misadventures of learning to accept one's obsession with Magic the Gathering and the other's admiration for Steampunk décor.

7 thoughts on “Around the World in 12 Books Reading Challenge”

    1. I guess if that happens, I can always find another one. It’s a very open challenge. I didn’t really need to pick the books in advance, but I had those in mind already.
      Wait til you see the next book challenge I’m starting. I’ll have it posted by the end if the year hopefully.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

