How many bad movies can one person own?

To answer that, we can take a look at Cam’s movie collection.

When I bought my home, I owned only one set of DVDs – season 5 of The Wire. One day while I was sick, Cam bought me the movie Frozen to cheer me up. That is the extent of my disc collection. When Cam moved in with me, he brought hundreds. More than half are zombie movies. Most of those zombie movies are just bad zombie movies.  I’ll never watch them all.  I’ll never watch Automaton Transfusion or Raiders of the Living Dead.
Some of the movies he owns are really good.  The first time I went to his house, we watched his copy of 300. The second time, we watched the excellent REC. Maybe that’s when he figured I would stick around. Who else would stick around after watching a Spanish zombie movie with subtitles? It’s a really good movie.  It’s way better than its American rehash, Quarantine, and given his love for bad zombie movies, it’s no surprise he owns that one as well.
Or how about The Man from Earth? He is the only other person I met that really enjoyed that movie. To my surprise, it was nestled on his shelf nicely between Mallrats and Matrix Reloaded. (It seems he only has The Matrix on VHS, and the rest of the trilogy on DVD.)
His propensity for the weird, the bad, and the interesting boggles me sometimes. In fact, to this day he defends his ownership of even Hell of the Living Dead and House of the Dead. He wonders why he’s left to watch some of them while I’m not at home.
I guess the tables are turned sometimes…like when made him watch Love Actually. I’m not defending it as a good movie. I think he actually thinks Hell of the Living Dead is a good movie. So bad it’s good, he thinks. I’ve never actually made him finish Across the Universe or Les Mis. I choose to indulge in my western movie addiction while Cam is at work. He’ll never understand my obsession with old John Wayne movies, much like I’ll never understand what is so great about Jackie Chan.
We probably agree more when it comes to television shows. If a movie cannot be settled upon, we can always agree on a few episodes of Star Trek instead.

Published by

geekcoupletab

We're Tab and Cam-just a goofy, geeky couple exploring each other's interests from comic books, board games, video games, TV and movies. Join us in misadventures of learning to accept one's obsession with Magic the Gathering and the other's admiration for Steampunk décor.

One thought on “How many bad movies can one person own?”

  1. Ok, I’m curious, does Cameron alphabetize his DVDs since you mentioned The Man From Planet Earth was shelved between Mallrats and Matrix Reloaded. I’m lucky if the correct disc is in the case at my house lol. I haven’t seen most of the movies you mentioned (I think Erika and Matt are horrified at my deficiency in movies seen lol), but I did enjoy Across The Universe. I might have to watch it again soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

