The Picture of Dorian Gray

After starting to read The Picture of Dorian Gray, I remembered reading it in high school.  It was so unmemorable to me at the time I made my 50 Classics list that I completely forgot, or perhaps more likely, I blocked it from memory.  Luckily it is a short piece, so I did not endure the arrogant distasteful characters for long.

The first third of the book is just plain boring.  I began to be amused by the time poor Sybil was out of the picture.  There are whole sections describing Dorian’s many fleeting obsessions that I merely skipped over out of boredom.

Despite my dislike for the characters, the plot makes it a timeless piece, and perhaps the greatest study of human vanity and shallowness. For that, I do believe it is still worth a read as I first read it– in high school, where vanity and shallowness might be at its peak.


classics-club

I think I’ll have luck and more to say with the book I just started, The Handmaid’s Tale. Margaret  Atwood is one of my favorites.

Published by

geekcoupletab

We're Tab and Cam-just a goofy, geeky couple exploring each other's interests from comic books, board games, video games, TV and movies. Join us in misadventures of learning to accept one's obsession with Magic the Gathering and the other's admiration for Steampunk décor.

One thought on “The Picture of Dorian Gray”

Leave a Reply

