Weekend Coffee Share – International Suicide Survivors Day

AFSP_ISOSLD_logo-200x200-e1417445774523If we were having coffee, I’d first thank you for meeting up with me and invite you to tag along to a couple of events I’ll be in attendance today.

First is an event hosted by a friend in recognition of International Survivors of Suicide Loss Day, which is today.  There’s going to be a screening of a film produced by the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention called Family Journeys: Healing and Hope after a Suicide.  I believe she also has a speech prepared.  I am happy she is able to bring attention to this issue in our community by hosting.  She’s done a great job so far.  I do hope it will continue year after year.  You can learn more about it here and sign up for the event in your own community.

Unfortunately, I’ll probably have to duck out early to head to my friends’ house for a birthday party for their 1 year old.  I can’t believe it’s already been one year!  He’s gotten so big.  The theme is How to Train Your Dragon, and hopefully, he’ll wear his Toothless Halloween costume at least long enough for me to get a picture since we missed him on Halloween.

If we were having coffee, I’d also invite you to come back this evening to help us put together some raised garden beds for the backyard.  Don’t worry, dinner would be provided. Our previous garden beds did not stand up well to two playful pups, so reinforcements and fencing is needed to keep next year’s veggies firmly rooted in the ground.

If we were having coffee, I’d ask you what your plans are for Thanksgiving, and I’d share mine.  We’ll be travelling to both of our parents’ houses for a meal, and hopefully we can squeeze in a little celebration of our own.  I’ve already volunteered our house for my family Christmas celebration.  Next weekend, you’re invited to come decorate with me.

We would laugh about how I finally surpassed 10,000 words for NaNoWriMo, and joke about trying again next year.  At least I’ve been reading more now that the weather has finally turned cold.  I am writing more, too, just not at the pace that my fellow WriMos are.  I still intend to finish.

overtureI am excited to tell you I finally received Sandman: Overture.  It was supposed to be a Christmas present, but Cam guessed what it was by Amazon’s not so subtle package.  He promised not to touch it until Christmas.  Like he has time anyway, with finals coming up and a CompTia exam scheduled in December.

I hate to rush off so soon, but we’ll see each other again next week.  And I’ll see you in about an hour at WKU’s Health Complex to learn more about supporting survivors of suicide.  Now, I’m off to buy a birthday present.  I believe my discount at the book store has come in handy this time of year.

Published by

geekcoupletab

We're Tab and Cam-just a goofy, geeky couple exploring each other's interests from comic books, board games, video games, TV and movies. Join us in misadventures of learning to accept one's obsession with Magic the Gathering and the other's admiration for Steampunk décor.

19 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share – International Suicide Survivors Day”

  1. Sounds like a super-busy day.

    Hope the party is fun and that the event goes well.

    The Sandman Overture is an excellent one—we both read through it after it came in on the 10th.

    Like

  2. Hi you cute couple. I really like how you invited us to share in your day while also introducing the International Suicide Survivors Day to us. I like learning about you. You love gardening and reading, so do I. I was going to do nanorimo this year and last year and the year before that. I haven’t done it yet. Maybe next year. We don’t have much of a garden. I don’t have many garden beds. I have some herbs planted out the front. In my back yard I have 9 tomato plants in pots. We are just starting to pick some cherry tomatoes at the moment. My coffee cup is empty. Off for a refill. Have a nice day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for yours and Cam’s help!! I do hope to host next year and many more years to come. I appreciate your support as well.

    Like

  4. I’m way behind on NaNoWriMo. It happens. I haven’t given up but I don’t have much time what with being gone all week. I still am not home, won’t be until late Sunday night. Then off again on Wednesday through next Saturday. So realistically I have about three or four days of writing.

    BTW, next time you order a gift from amazon, tell them it is a gift (there’s a box to check) and they will put it in some kind of outer wrap, like an amazon box. No charge unless you ask for gift wrap.

    Like

  5. Thanks for the coffee! It was a great idea to bring up the topic of suicide prevention in our coffee share. I’m not sure of the scientific facts but I tend to think it’s the ones who don’t talk or say anything who proceed and these can be the hardest to reach. IN AUstralia, we have an RUOK Day. It’s quite effective although I did wonder: what happens if you’re not OK on RUOK Day? Maybe they should hand badges out as well. “I am NOT OK, Okay?!!”
    Happy Thanksgiving. Being an American thing, we don’t celebrate it in Australia but it would be good to have a day each year where we count our blessings, especially if it wasn’t commercial.
    We’ve had hailstorms and a heataves in the last week and a half and are still cleaning up and fixing the roof. xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the idea of RUOK Day. I would think that if you’re not ok, it should be ok to say, “I’m not ok!” I just watched Inside Out, and it made a point there at the end that we need to say we’re not ok when we’re feeling sad instead of just trying to hide it.
      Good luck with the roof! Several of our neighbors had issues during storms we had a few months ago.

      Like

Leave a Reply

