The Versatile Blogger Award

the-versatile-blogger-award

Thanks to The Monkey’s Jungle for nominating us for the Versatile Blogger Award.  It’s pretty cool.  Two awards in two weeks.  Must be award season or something.  We’re blushing.

By accepting this award, we understand that we nominate other bloggers in a never-ending chain mail of sorts.  We’re cool with that.  While some folks see it as a nuisance, we find that it is another great way to interact with other bloggers and show them our appreciation for their writing.  Secretly, we also crave the validation.

We also understand that some people don’t wish to accept or participate.  That’s cool, too.  We still want to give a shout out to the blogs we enjoy.  We chose different blogs to nominate this time around because it really was so hard to choose the last time.  If we do nominate someone that doesn’t accept awards, we apologize in advance that we missed that on your blog.

the rules
○Thank the person who gave you this award.
○Include a link to their blog.
○Next, select 15 blogs that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
○Nominate those  bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.
○Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

our nominees

  1. The Travelling GeekShow
  2. Manchester Flick Chick
  3. Inspirational Geek
  4. I Am, Therefore I Write
  5. Scruffy-Little Nerd Herder
  6. MeeMee’s Musings
  7. Travelling in My Bookcase
  8. 365 Shitty First Drafts
  9. Blu Chicken Ninja
  10. A Girl Who Loves to Travel
  11. Becoming the Muse
  12. Addaltmode
  13. Boardgaming For the Win
  14. Camera Pen Travel
  15. Cogpunk Steamscribe

Now for some interesting facts about us.  We broke it up between the two of us.

Tab –

  1. I was in the Peace Corps…twice.  I served in Mauritania and Zambia.  If I could wrangle Cam to join, I’d do it again, for a third, fourth time-however many times he would agree to.  I love travelling in general.  These days we’re travelling more locally, which is fine.  There is plenty to explore in your own backyard.
  2. I’m a grad school drop-out.  I attended a half a semester for a Master’s in Public Administration.  In the middle of listening to 23 year olds talk about Karl Marx and Adam Smith, I dropped out.  I got a new job and it just wasn’t worth it anymore.  I still hope to go back, but I’ll probably study something more interesting, but less useful.
  3. When I was 12, I broke both of my arms at the same time while goofing around on a swing set in our back yard.  It was the day before my mother’s birthday.
  4. I was on the Today Show for a brief few seconds when George W. Bush came to visit Zambia while I was a volunteer.  We met, we talked.  He loved the Kentucky accent.  Later I was told by other volunteer that while standing behind him for a photo shoot, I appeared to have resting disgruntled face for the brief moment the camera panned my way.  I assure you I was merely exhausted for putting on a show for the former President and family.

Cam –

  1. I was featured on a local commercial when I was in elementary school.  My dad worked in advertising at the local TV station.  Clearly, I wasn’t bit by the acting bug, being an introvert and all.
  2. I hate most vegetables.  Green beans, corn, and pickles.  Those are the only vegetables I’ll eat much to Tab’s disgust.
  3. I am in my last week of my first semester back in college.  I’m working on a degree in Network Administration.  So far, so good, but I’m ready for a break.

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

geekcoupletab

We're Tab and Cam-just a goofy, geeky couple exploring each other's interests from comic books, board games, video games, TV and movies. Join us in misadventures of learning to accept one's obsession with Magic the Gathering and the other's admiration for Steampunk décor.

12 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. Congratulations! It’s too bad the most interesting graduate degrees also seem to be the least practical/useful (not that I think that should stop anyone from doing it!). I was a humanities major in undergrad and sometimes wish I had done a history PhD.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still paying for that half a semester. If it wasn’t so expensive, I’d go back and study English or history. But there’s a hippie-ish grad degree in social justice and sustainable communities I find interesting, but hearing from recent grads of the program, it’s just not what employers are looking for. I’d love to get it anyway, but the cost is my deterrent.

      Like

Leave a Reply

