Top Ten Tuesday – New-to-Me Authors

top ten tuesday
A weekly theme created by The Broke and Bookish

New to me authors!  I love discovering (and rediscovering) new writers.  I wish I could add more to the list, but I only got around to so many books on my TBR shelf.  There’s just more to discover in 2016!

Tab’s List

1.) Robert W. Chambers – I loved reading some of the stories that inspired writers I enjoy reading today, like Lovecraft and Stephen King.

2.) Madeleine L’Engle – A Wrinkle in Time was an adorable story that I can’t believe I hadn’t read when I was a child.

3.) Neil Gaiman – Not really new to me, but reevaluated and slid right into the favorite author space.

4.) A. J. Jacobs – Although I didn’t enjoy the content of the book of his I did read, I liked his writing style and wouldn’t mind reading his other books.

5.) Shawn Cowling – An independent writer I found right here on WordPress.  I am anticipating reading more indie authors in 2016 since I didn’t get around to it in 2015.  I have a lot of their books waiting for me on my Kindle.

6.) Philip K. Dick – Why haven’t I read his entire collection yet?

7.) Neil Shubin – I have read one of his two books.  Can’t wait to read the other one, and see him speak in February!

8.) Luther Siler – another awesome independent author. Just started his book, Searching for Malumba.

9.) Lev Grossman – Like Harry Potter, but with cursing and gritty adult themes? I’m sure I’ll finish the trilogy before the end of this year!

Cam’s List

10.) Carl Sagan – What can I say?  I’m still too busy finishing up old series and reading networking textbooks to start something fresh.

 

Published by

geekcoupletab

We're Tab and Cam-just a goofy, geeky couple exploring each other's interests from comic books, board games, video games, TV and movies. Join us in misadventures of learning to accept one's obsession with Magic the Gathering and the other's admiration for Steampunk décor.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New-to-Me Authors”

    1. I’ve been spending the rest of my day planning the wedding. It’s all starting to come together. So, it’s been a productive day, and maybe I tried on the dress a couple of times to match sure the holidays weren’t catching up to me. Lol
      I also need to read the rest of the series, and perhaps buy them for any future kiddos.

      Like

    1. I think as a young girl, I would have loved the main character Meg. She reminded me of myself at that age. I was probably too busy reading teen magazines and other nonsense to take the time to read it. I wish I had though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

